Recipe: Whole Wheat Tortillas

For Christmas hubby got me a tortilla press.  Major score!  I’ve been playing around with corn and whole wheat tortilla recipes and found a great whole wheat tortilla recipe from who else but Lisa from 100 Days of Real Food.

whole wheat tortillas - tiffany lane

The recipe is perfect, so I didn’t change a thing (gasp)!  Jump over to 100 Days of Real Food for the Whole Wheat Tortilla recipe.

Need some ideas for your new favorite tortillas?  Over the weekend, hubby and I made a butternut squash and black bean enchilada casserole from How Sweet It Is.  Note, her recipe calls for actual enchiladas, but I found that there was much more filling than would fit into my rolled tortillas.  Instead, I put a single layer of tortillas on the bottom of the baking dish, poured in the butternut squash and black bean filling, added another layer of tortillas and topped it off with the sauce, cheese and extra sage.  It was delicious and completely worth the time, especially with the homemade tortillas.  Mmm…leftovers.

And I know I mentioned playing around with corn tortilla recipes too.  I haven’t found a recipe I like, so I’m planning on making some alterations to make my perfect corn tortilla with my organic blue corn Masa Harina (thanks, hubby).  I’ll keep you posted!

2 Comments

Filed under Food + Recipes

2 responses to “Recipe: Whole Wheat Tortillas

  1. Pingback: Taco Tuesday | tiffanylanehandmade

  2. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Menu Ideas | tiffanylanehandmade

What do you think?