Recipe: Oatmeal Peanut Butter Squares

You know those food blogs you just trust?  The ones you can make anything from last minute without a test run?  That’s how I feel about How Sweet It is.  I’ve made a few things from Jessica’s blog (like thisthis, this and this), and they’ve all been awesome.  Plus, I’ve bookmarked almost all of her recipes so I can try them later.  On top of that, she’s hilarious.  You’ve got to go read her blog.  Now.

Being a peanut butter junkie, the moment I saw this recipe I knew I had to make it.  Right away!  And life group would be the perfect time to showcase it.

I went home on my lunch break to throw the dough together and baked it when I got home from work so it would be ready in time for our gathering.  And I will say, it was definitely worth the last minute logistics.  Everyone loved them!

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Snack Squares // Adapted from How Sweet It Is

I adapted this recipe from How Sweet It Is, however, the only things I did differently were: replaced brown sugar with honey (equal parts), lowered the baking temperature from 350 degrees F to 325 degrees F and added a couple more minutes to the baking time (because of the honey), and omitted the chocolate chips.  For the original recipe, click here.

Makes 9 squares

Ingredients
1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1 cup old fashioned oats
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup honey
3/4 cups creamy peanut butter
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup milk (I used plain soy milk)

Preparation
Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.  In the bowl of an electric mixer, add peanut butter and honey and mix on high speed until combined, about 1-2 minutes. Add in vanilla extract and mix until combined.

Add in flour, oats, salt and baking soda, mixing on medium speed. The dough will look crumbly and you want the peanut butter mix to be broken up into clumps. Add milk with the mixer on low speed, and mix until a dough forms.

Make sure dough is completely combined, and roll it into a ball with your hands. Place it in the middle of a greased 8×8 baking dish, pressing it to fit. Bake for 18-22 minutes, or until set and golden on top. Let cool completely, then cut into 9 squares.

2 Comments

Filed under Food + Recipes

2 responses to “Recipe: Oatmeal Peanut Butter Squares

  1. Pingback: Oatmeal Peanut Butter Squares | Blonde Brain Blogs (BBB)

  2. That sounds delicious, I am going to have to give this a try!

What do you think?