Doggy Diaries: Why We Don’t Have a Dog Yet

Finn, an adoptable pup in Anaheim, California

If your new to Doggy Diaries, catch up with all the posts here!

Since I gave you a brief introduction about the new Doggy Diaries feature last week, I wanted to fill you in a little bit.  I am so obviously obsessed with dogs, so why don’t we have a dog yet?

I have always loved animals and always had pets growing up, including cats, dogs, rabbits, hamsters, rats, lizards, and even chickens.  So going off to college was a bit hard for me since I wasn’t able to have pets.  While in the dorms for my first two years, that’s obvious, no pets allowed.  Then once my friends and I got an apartment and subsequently an (awesome) house (aka the “yellow house”), I simply didn’t have the time or money to take care of a pet.

The goal was that once I graduated college, I would finally have some extra money and my own place to have all the pets I wanted (but let’s get real, I just wanted a dog).  I envisioned my life spent at the dog beach and hiking with man’s best friend.  It was going to be pretty awesome!

Well, flash forward to marriage and finding a place we could afford within reasonable distance from work, family and friends, and housing options dwindle a little.  We ended up in a great condo that we’ve truly appreciated having for these past two years, but unfortunately, our landlord wasn’t on the dog bandwagon.   I knew I wouldn’t be able to handle not having any pets again, so we negotiated for a small cat.  She liked us so much that she gave in let us get a kitty, then to make a sad and long story short, our first kitty passed away.  Once we were ready to get another one, we asked if she would allow us to have two cats this time and she succumbed.

I feel I must interrupt this little monologue to assure you that I dearly love our kitties and I love all animals.  It’s not that our kitties “aren’t enough,” I just love dogs from deep within my soul.  It’s not something I can really explain, I just love them.  They are a companion like no other.

Back to the story.  About two months ago, we found out that our landlord is selling the condo and she gave us sixty days notice.  This was pretty much a bummer for us since our lease had expired a year before and we were on a month-to-month basis. Since we are interested in purchasing a house, the month-to-month status was perfect for us.  We could leave at any time.

Trying to be positive about the situation, my ultimate goal was to find a new place that would allow us to have a dog.  For me, that would make this move worth it.  After some ups and downs with houses (to purchase) and a lack of available rentals meeting our wish list criteria, we finally found a place the week before we had to move.  Talk about waiting ’til the last minute!

Want to know the big ticket item about this place (besides the dog)?  Not only will our landlord let us have a dog, we will have a real backyard.  With a legit covered patio and soon-to-be large grassy area that will be perfect for our new little pup!

If you made it this far, thanks for reading and listening! I know it was a bit lengthy, but I figured I should offer some form of an explanation as to why getting a puppy is so special to me.  Do you have a neat story about your pets?

5 Comments

Filed under Doggy Diaries

5 responses to “Doggy Diaries: Why We Don’t Have a Dog Yet

  1. I cannot wait until we can move to get a dog also! I can’t wait to see what little guy you decide to take home though! It will be one lucky and spoiled pup 🙂

  2. julie panter

    Thank you for the beautiful story. The Lord is blessing you and making it possible to find your puppy that will love you unconditionally!

  3. I know exactly how you feel! I don’t have a dog for all the same reasons you mentioned. I haven’t found our home with a yard yet, but when I do, I’m hoping there’s a puppy in the future!

    • It will happen for you eventually. I kept thinking it wasn’t going to happen any time soon, then that’s when we got the sixty days notice at our old place. Once that happened, it was the ultimate goal to find our place now. It takes so much patience!

What do you think?

