DIY Tutorial: Burlap Garland

I’ve been wanting to make one of these for a while now and finally got that spur of inspiration from a wedding we attended recently.  The bride and her family and friends made some lovely burlap garlands that looked so adorable and I could not help but want to do the same. Mine is for the craft room and reads “handmade.”

This is a really easy and fun project so if you kinda-sorta want to make one too, JUST DO IT!

Active Time: 45 minutes
Wait Time: up to 24 hours

Cost: Under $30

Materials
Burlap Ribbon
Twine
Stencils
Acrylic or Fabric Paint
Sponge Brush
Fabric Glue
Cardboard or laminated sheets
Weights
Scissors
Safety Pin
Rule

Here’s how I did it:

First I got some burlap ribbon about 6 inches wide. Then I found a 5 inch alphabet stencils set at a craft store (or you could make your own if you want a custom font). Obviously, adjust your stencil size to the width of your ribbon.  Then I cut the ribbon into rectangles 8 inches long for each letter I need. In my case, 8 letters for handmade. Be sure to cut your rectangles leaving enough extra fabric which is necessary to fold over into a loop to string the twine through to complete the garland.

Next, lay out your cardboard or laminated sheets and line up the burlap on top (I used newspaper initially as you can see from the photos and the since the burlap is so porous, the glue leaked through.  Since the newspaper is delicate, some of it stuck to my burlap).  Then simply align each stencil letter or number on a strip of burlap, and be sure to leave extra space at the top of each rectangle for the loop, about an inch and a half.   Using a sponge brush, dab on the paint.  I like to create an uneven look with the paint, but making sure to use enough paint that the letters will stand out.  Allow the paint to dry to the touch.

Now it’s time to create the loops. For each rectangle, fold over (or under, whichever look you prefer) a strip of burlap about 3/4 to 1 inch wide and crease. On the edge of the under side, apply fabric glue and press down firmly. You will want to weigh this down since it will take a little while to dry. I used some filled mason jars I had lying around, a small metal drawer, and a container of cat litter! Anything that is heavy enough to hold down the burlap while it’s drying.

Cut your twine to the appropriate length keeping in mind you may want a little space in between your letters and you will need extra at each end for hanging.  Once fabric glue and paint have both dried completely (this may be up to 24 hours), using a safety pin, string the twine through each rectangle, hang your lovely creation and enjoy!

And if you decide that’s a little too much for you or you just don’t have the time, head on over to my shop to purchase one handmade made by me!

What do you think?  What word or phrase would you put on yours?

14 Comments

Filed under DIY + Tutorials, Home Decor

14 responses to “DIY Tutorial: Burlap Garland

  1. Pingback: Craft: Burlap Garland: 18 DIY Ideas – CrochetingHearts.org

  2. Pingback: Burlap Garland: 18 DIY Ideas | Guide Patterns

  3. Tara

    I love this! One question, you say fabric paint but the picture shows an acrylic… Will just a regular acrylic paint work fine? Thanks!

  4. Pingback: Engagement: Kailyn + Jeremy | tiffanylanehandmade

  5. Elizabeth

    I just pinned this! So great! I’m also enjoying your site, I just discovered it this morning. 🙂

  6. farmergal

    HARVEST That’s what I would put on the burlap. Perfect for this time of year! Great, understandable tutorial. Farmergal

  7. Pingback: Alphabet Stencil | Scrapbooking & Paper Crafts

  8. That is adorable…can use them in several situations!

  9. Brilliant! Handmade should always be celebrated and shouted about!

  10. Thank you and you definitely should! Perfect for weddings!

  11. This is awesome! I should make one for my wedding!

What do you think?