Homemade Gift Guide: Body Care

Wow, can you believe it’s almost Christmas again already? I’m feeling a little behind in the gift department this year, mostly for my lack of planning ahead. Serious shocker for a seasoned planner! But never fear my friends, I’m getting it together finally, making lists and crossing off to-dos.

One of my must do favorites every year is homemade gifts and this year I happen to be keen on body care. Today I’m sharing two simple, inexpensive, and quick recipes: sea salt body scrub and salt bath soak.

ORANGE BASIL SEA SALT BODY SCRUB

Orange Basil Body Scrub | Tiffany Lane

Orange Basil Body Scrub | Tiffany Lane

Orange Basil Body Scrub | Tiffany Lane

Ingredients
2 cups sea salt
1 cup oil (sweet almond oil* or olive)
2-4 tablespoons orange essential oil

2-4 tablespoons fresh basil, chopped

The basic ratio is 2 parts salt to 1 part oil, plus essential oils of your choosing for scent. For this recipe, I used orange essential oil and chopped, fresh basil. As always, feel free to adjust ratios to your tastes. You could always use basil essential oil instead of fresh basil. I happened to have fresh basil on hand and I also think it looks pretty.

Salt is a natural preservative so no need to worry about the oils or basil going rancid.  I know some of you may be into substituting recipes for what you have on hand, I am a huge advocate for that.  But in this case, please do not use sugar in place of the salt or you may need to refrigerate it (because of the fresh basil) which just isn’t very convenient for something you’re going to use in the bathroom.

PEPPERMINT SALT BATH SOAK

Peppermint Bath Soak | Tiffany Lane

Peppermint Bath Soak | Tiffany Lane

Peppermint Bath Soak | Tiffany Lane

Ingredients
2 cups salt

2-4 tablespoons peppermint essential oil

This is probably one of the easiest homemade gifts I’ve ever made.  Two ingredients and stir or shake to coat. It doesn’t get much better than that. I used both rock salts and fine salt for a lovely combination, then added in a bit of peppermint oil until fragrant. Endless possibilities for scents, use whatever you have on hand.

Need some more homemade gift ideas?

Candles are another great homemade gift that would go along nicely with these.  I can see myself now soaking in my salt bath, hands and face scrubbed smooth, and a refreshing candle glowing away. Check out my recent post for the full candle making DIY.

And don’t forget about the lip balm to round it out. This one is definitely on my gift list. As a matter of fact, I already ordered my containers and labels, just waiting for them to arrive so I can begin the preparations!

If you’re looking for a bigger ticket item, most women love massages and they make great gifts.  Go for a gift card to a local spa and add on a homemade body care gift or two for a cute package.

READER FEEDBACK: What are your favorite homemade gifts to give and receive?

P.S. This post can be found at Holistic Home Link Party!

*Tiffany Lane Handmade is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.

Leave a comment

Filed under Gift Giving, Holiday Crafts

What do you think?

