Recipe: Fig Jam

fresh figs - 2eat2drink[Photo Courtesy of 2eat2drink]

Sweet, fruity and decadent.

Figs are a favorite of mine and I can’t describe how excited I was to receive a pound of them in my CSA box a couple of weeks ago.  What better way to use them than to make another favorite of mine, fig jam?  And coming up I’ll share with you my new wheat free fig bar recipe!

Also, sorry I don’t have a photo of the finished product.  I made this the other night as part of my new fig bars and made the bars without taking a photo of the jam. Oops.

FIG JAM

Makes approximately 1 1/2 cups

Ingredients
1 lb fresh or dried figs (fresh preferable), quartered
1/2 cup water (for fresh figs) or 1 cup water (for dried figs)
2 tbsp fresh citrus juice (orange works well)

1-2 tbsp honey or maple syrup (optional)

Preparation

Place diced figs into a small saucepan over low heat.  Add water, cover and cook, stirring occasionally.  Continue cooking until figs reach your desired jam-like consistency.  I cook mine for 20-30 minutes.  If the jam is too thick, add more water one tablespoon at a time (keep in mind, thicker is better for the fig bars).  Add citrus juice for flavor and preservation.  At the end, taste for flavor and add the honey or maple syrup if desired.  I find that I do not need any extra sweetener, but you may prefer a sweeter jam.

Keep up to date with me so you don’t miss my reinvented fig bars, this time they’re wheat free!

1 Comment

Filed under Food + Recipes

One response to “Recipe: Fig Jam

  1. Pingback: Recipe: Wheat Free Fig Bars | tiffanylanehandmade

What do you think?

