Health: What’s All The Hype About Coconut Palm Sugar?

cps - spencers market [Photo Courtesy of Spencer’s Market]

If you’ve done any research of your own on coconut palm sugar, you may have come across this article, The Truth About Coconut Palm Sugar: The Other Side of the Story or this one, Coconut Palm Sugar: Friend or Foe, both of which raise concern over the “health” benefits of CPS, with the latter having a somewhat more positive take on the matter.  To round it out, here is an article by Gnosis Chocolates advocating it as a sustainable, healthy sweetener of choice.  As with anything, there are multiple sides to this story.

Basically, there are four main reasons coconut palm sugar is being touted as a healthier alternative to granulated sugar: (1) low glycemic index (simply meaning it won’t cause as much of a blood sugar spike); (2) more nutrient rich (minerals and B vitamins); (3) minimally processed (only heated to evaporate the water); and (4) sustainable (coconut palm trees grow almost anywhere in the tropics and do not require much tending).

So what do I think about all of this?  Let me begin by stating that sugar is always still sugar, so I do my best to reduce my overall consumption, satiating my sweet tooth with fruits and other naturally sweet whole foods instead of constantly chowing down on things with added sugar.  Yes, I know, those still have sugars, but they occur naturally in those whole foods and I am also getting the other whole food nutrients at the same time.  And when I do use sweetener, for instance in all my homemade sweet treats, I use just a touch so you know you’re eating dessert, but not enough that you have a sugar high afterwards.

I appreciate that coconut palm sugar may (and hopefully is) a healthier alternative and I will most likely be using it along with honey and dates to sweeten my treats.  Most importantly, though, is that the way I think about sugar is the same stance I take for “dieting” (as read in “Health: The Diet Conundrum”): moderation is key.

Since I purchased coconut palm sugar, I’ve only used it a couple of times, but love it already! The lovely caramel notes make it perfect for baked goods like these Peanut Butter Cornmeal Cookies I made on Tuesday.  I’m looking forward to having a healthier alternative to granulated sugar that I can use in my baked goods since honey doesn’t always bake quite as well.  It also worked nicely in our cabbage salad last weekend.

For a list of other natural sweeteners and their benefits, check out Eat Naked Now’s post, “Know Your Sweets: Natural Sweeteners 101.”

Do you use natural sweeteners?

2 Comments

Filed under Health, Beauty, Skin Care

2 responses to “Health: What’s All The Hype About Coconut Palm Sugar?

  1. Hmm it looks lijke yourr website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up
    what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new
    to the whole thing. Do you have any tips and hints forr newbie blog writers?
    I’d really apreciate it.

    • Thanks so much for the kind words! The only advice I have is to be yourself and follow your passions. It can be easier to copy what everyone else is doing, and it’s tempting when it seems like that’s how you earn success, but people want to read and follow blogs with sincerity and you’ll enjoy blogging more if you do what you love. Good luck out there!

What do you think?

