Health: The Diet Conundrum

strawberries - naturally ella Photo Courtesy of Naturally Ella

I don’t know about you, but I am so tired of hearing about the latest and greatest diet.  It seems everyday someone has a newer, better, faster, cheaper version.  But what’s all the hype?

My diet is just that, my diet.  The term “diet” has this new connotation attached to it so hard (like super glue) that anytime I mention my diet, someone almost certainly asks me which one.  Huh?

The dictionary definition of diet is simply: “The kinds of food that a person, animal, or community habitually eats,” (Dictionary.com).  I habitually eat whole, unprocessed or minimally processed, mostly plant based foods.  All the research I have done (and continue to do) has helped me decide this is the healthy way I want to eat and live. Yes, it’s a lifestyle.

We’ve talked about processed foods here before (see Food + Recipes and Health), so I won’t regurgitate it all again, but a huge take away is that moderation is key (which should go for many aspects of life, not just eating).  I vary my diet between whole grains, nuts, beans/legumes, dairy, fruits and vegetables, with the very occasional seafood or meat addition.  Since I’ve been eating clean (as some call it), I feel better: more energy, healthy weight.

For the record, being healthy is not just about diet; hydration, exercise and rest are just as important.  It’s not always easy, but it’s definitely worth it.  The hardest parts for me are passing up sweets (which is why I make so many healthier sweets at home to satiate my sweet tooth); staying hydrated (since I forget to drink water – don’t ask me how or why), exercising as much as I know I should (since sometimes I am just tired and lazy), and getting enough rest (since my mind doesn’t always stop when my body does).

How do you live out your healthy lifestyle? What’s keeping you from fully experiencing a healthy lifestyle?

1 Comment

Filed under Health, Beauty, Skin Care

One response to “Health: The Diet Conundrum

  1. Pingback: Health: What’s All The Hype About Coconut Palm Sugar? | tiffanylanehandmade

What do you think?

