Homemade Oat & Herb Facial Scrub

I’ve been busy cleaning out the last of my over the counter beauty products the past couple of weeks.   On my long to-do list of homemade products was facial scrub.  I can happily say I’ve checked that one off my list, and yet again, it’s one of those why-did-I-wait-so-long-to-do-this things.  Seriously, it’s so easy and inexpensive. What are you waiting for?

oat herb face scrub 1 - tiffany lane

I love that there are so few ingredients and you probably already have these at home, I did.  The original recipe calls for almonds, but I used flaxseed (since I accidentally grabbed the wrong mason jar, oops!) and it worked perfectly.  For the herbs, since the recipe calls for chamomile, yarrow and elder flowers which I did not have on hand, I used the herbs from tea bags, specifically Trader Joe’s Pear & Ginger White Tea.  This not only gives you the external health benefits, but it makes the scrub smell amazing!

OAT & HERB FACIAL SCRUB

Adapted from Crunchy Thrifty Healthy Cool

Ingredients
Oats
Flaxseed or almonds
Herbs

Oil (sweet almond oil*, jojoba oil or olive oil)

To prepare, simply use a ratio of 3 parts oats to 1 part flaxseed or almonds and 1 part herbs.  Finely grind the almonds and oats separately, add to a mixing bowl and toss with herbs.  Slowly add the oil to your desired consistency.  I like mine a bit wet, but not soaked.  It will be crumbly.

To use, wet your face and hands, scoop out about one tablespoon of the mixture and massage into face, circling upwards.  For best results, allow scrub to rest on your skin for at least a minute prior to rinsing.  This allows all the good stuff to actually get into your skin.  Rinse with warm water.

My ratios: 1/4 cup oats, 1 1/2 tablespoons ground flaxseed (approximately), 3 tea bags, 4 tablespoons almond oil.

oat herb face scrub 2 - tiffany lane

The mixture before adding oil:

oat herb face scrub 3 - tiffany lane

IMG_6217oat herb face scrub 4 - tiffany lane

The finished product:

IMG_6225oat herb face scrub 5 - tiffany lane

I’d love to hear your experience with this scrub or any others you’ve made before.  Leave your comments below!

*Tiffany Lane Handmade is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.

1 Comment

Filed under Eco-Purpose, Health, Beauty, Skin Care

One response to “Homemade Oat & Herb Facial Scrub

  1. julie

    So exciting…cant wait to make for myself.

What do you think?

