DIY: Rubber Stamps

This is a project I’ve been meaning to do for quite a while now.  Why it took me so long to actually do it, who knows.  Especially because this project is so simple and inexpensive!

Active Time: 15-30 minutes

What You’ll Need:

DIY rubber stamps 1 - tiffany lane

What To Do:

Draw or stencil your design onto the eraser.  As you can see in the photo below, I erased my drawings a few times!  I definitely should have used a stencil.

DIY rubber stamps 2 - tiffany lane

Now it’s time to cut out the negative space of the eraser.  I like to trace my design first, then cut away the rest.  When making your first cut, try to use a straight edge of your drawing (if you have one) and cut down about half way into the eraser.  Carefully carve out the rest, being sure to cut away from your body and fingers so you don’t stab yourself like I did. Guess I still haven’t learned my lesson from all those times I thought I could defy the inevitable, decided to cut towards myself and of course stabbed or sliced my hands and fingers.  Some things never change.

DIY rubber stamps 3 - tiffany lane

Once you’ve carved out your design, clean up any strays (I had lots!) and you’re ready to stamp.

DIY rubber stamps 4 - tiffany lane

DIY rubber stamps 5 - tiffany lane

DIY rubber stamps 6 - tiffany lane

Maybe next time I’ll make a chevron stamp!  What are you going to make?

1 Comment

Filed under Crafting, DIY + Tutorials, March National Craft Month

One response to “DIY: Rubber Stamps

  1. julie

    How cute. Ty

What do you think?

