Recipe: Brown Rice, Black Bean & Veggie Salad + Quick Tip

I love rice and beans, then to jazz that up with some fresh, raw veggies makes it a meal!

I had an event to work for my farm job over the weekend and wanted something fresh, filling and healthy to bring with me for my lunch one day and dinner another.  I also didn’t have much time to prep such a thing, but found quick cooking rice in the pantry along with a variety of fresh veggies in the fridge.  Here’s my quick tip: since I don’t care much for chopping tons of veggies, an idea dawned on me: use the grater! I’ve used the grater before for carrots when making carrot cake and such, but never for bell peppers and onions.  It worked wonders and I was done prepping in a flash.

Brown Rice, Black Bean and Veggie Salad

Ingredients
1 cup uncooked brown rice (quick cooking or other)
2 cans black beans
1 can whole kernel corn
1 red bell pepper
2 small carrots
1/4 small red onion
1/2 avocado (or a whole one if you like a lot)
7-8 cherry tomatoes
salt and pepper to taste
cilantro to taste (optional, not pictured)
 
Preparation
Prepare your rice according to package instructions.  Meanwhile, drain your black beans and corn (I drained them together, and saved the mixed “broth” to freeze for making soups later).  Grate the carrots, bell pepper and onion.  When you grate the bell pepper, the skin might flake off, which is fine, I just tossed the skin.  Dice your tomatoes.  Toss the veggies together in a large bowl.  Now score the avocado half cross wise in two directions to make lots of small pieces, then use a spoon to scoop it from the skin into the bowl.  If you’re using cilantro, chop then add to mixture.

Once your rice is done, allow to cool for a few minutes so it’s not scolding hot.  Then add into the bowl and mix everything together, adding salt and pepper to taste.  Enjoy warm or cold.

2 Comments

Filed under Food + Recipes

2 responses to “Recipe: Brown Rice, Black Bean & Veggie Salad + Quick Tip

  1. Erin

    I tried this, and wow, it was sooo good! It tastes just like a burrito bowl from Chipotle.

  2. julie panter

    looks delicious…can’t wait to try it!

What do you think?

