Doggy Diaries: Meet Ruger!

If you’re new to Doggy Diaries, catch up here!

If you remember from my last doggy diaries post, we met Presley and his brothers and sisters last Wednesday at the dog park.  Then we met Scotch, the 8 week old puppy, on Thursday night and almost took him home he was so adorable! But there was something about Presley that made us want to see him again before we made our final decision.  We got to spend some time with him at our house Friday night and decided to keep him!  This is our first family photo (minus the kitties, of course), taken by the volunteer from the rescue organization, Stella’s Hope:

His new name is Ruger and he is so sweet.  Talk about a smart puppy, too.  He already knows how to sit, stay, lie down and come.  He does most of his tricks already without treats, but sometimes needs a little freeze dried liver enticement!  On top of that, he is really good walking with his leash already.  He’s learning how to roll over and we’ll teach him how to shake next.  All this with no prior training and we’ve had him for less than a week!

It’s been an exciting week in the Neptune household and I’m still adjusting to the early morning hours of puppy hood.  Funny how people say that getting a puppy prepares you for children, and yes, that’s probably true.  But now that we have a puppy, I don’t think I want kids any time soon anyway!  He’s enough work as it is; I can’t imagine throwing a kid or two into the mix.  And really, I feel like I’m still a child, how could I raise one?

As he gets older and learns the ropes, though, life will get easier, I know.  And someday hubby and I will want kids, but for now, I’ve got my puppy and I’m content.

How’s life going for all of you?  What we’re your experiences raising puppies?

3 Comments

Filed under Doggy Diaries

3 responses to “Doggy Diaries: Meet Ruger!

  1. Pingback: Doggy Diaries: Learning the Ropes | tiffanylanehandmade

  2. julie panter

    You seem so happy! You have your new puppy together. A lot of new firsts for you both to cherish forever! Love you!

  3. That is so funny, I feel the same way about children! I’ll wait awhile thank you 🙂 But your puppy is so so cute! I can’t wait to hear more about him!

What do you think?

