DIY: Grow Your Own Green Onions

I  stumbled across this awesome blog the other day, The Burlap Bag. The name says it all!  In reading some of the fun and humorous posts, I found this one.  Who would have thought you could regrow green onions from the stems? I sure didn’t!  And shame to all those green onion stems I’ve tossed in ignorance.

Like most cool things or ideas I discover, I had to try this one out for myself, just to make sure, of course.  The consensus? It works!

Below is a photo from day 1, the day I chopped them down to stems:

And here is a photo from day 10, they’re  huge!

As Lauren points out in her post, I’m sure the same stems will only regrow a few times, since the water doesn’t provide the same nutrition as soil would.  But, this would definitely save some money even if they only regrow once.  You’ll need to change the water every couple of days and you don’t necessarily need sunlight.  I kept mine on our kitchen counter that gets neither direct or indirect sunlight and they grew beautifully.

If you haven’t already, I highly suggest you check out The Burlap Bag.

Have you done this before?  Do you have your own garden at home?

2 Comments

Filed under Crafting, DIY + Tutorials, Eco-Purpose

2 responses to “DIY: Grow Your Own Green Onions

  1. Wow, that’s really cool. I use green onions for salads several times a week and always toss the stems. Never again! Thanks for sharing.

  2. What an awesome tip! I had no idea!

What do you think?

