What’s In Your Food?

I’ve been very interested in agriculture for quite some time, but I’m really diving in now.  I’ve been following the 100 Days of Real Food blog (I talked about before) and Lisa highly recommends author Michael Pollan from whom she has gathered a lot of her information.  Pollan has written quite a few books on the subject, including: The Omnivore’s Dilemma, In Defense of Food and Food Rules (not to mention a few others).

I zipped through Food Rules (very quick read) and it was reassuring that some of the “rules” I live by aren’t crazy, they’re just going back to the basics of real food.  I recommend grabbing a copy; it could be pretty eye opening for some of you, and even just reassuring to others who may already adopt this way of living.  And yes, I say living, because so much of our lives revolve around food, right? When, where and what we’re going to eat seems to take up a lot of our time.  Or at least it does for my family.  It’s a lifestyle to choose to eat a certain way.  And eating a certain way may help healthy habits form in other parts of your life.

Right now I’m reading In Defense of Food and it’s really informative.  The beginning talks about how nutritionism started, the difference between nutrition and nutritionism and how it may not be as helpful as it seems.  That to the industrial food system the added nutrients in processed foods somehow seem to make those foods better than the real thing.   Pollan digs deep in this book and it’s exciting to know that others feel like I do about food and what we put into our bodies.

Tiffany, it seems like you’re just talking about food and nutrition, so what does this have to do specifically with agriculture?  Glad you asked.

I’ve really been interested in finding sources for our food that are: local, organic and sustainable.  It’s pretty tough to always get the three to sync, but one or two is better than none.  We plan to visit farmer’s markets more to get our produce, meat and eggs.  And our family has also signed up for a CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) program through Tanaka Farms.  Every other week, I’ll pick up a box of fresh, organic produce from the nearby farm.  And the kicker, it’s really not much more expensive than what we usually spend on produce at the grocery store and it’s better.  The conventionally grown produce at the grocery store is usually mediocre at best, full of pesticides and grown with fertilizers; and the organic produce at the grocery store is quite limited and very expensive, even more so than direct from the farm.

I’ve also been looking into opportunities to get involved in supporting sustainable agriculture, so if you’ve got an idea let me know!

To conclude the discussion today, I encourage you to check out both sites, 100 Days of Real Food (if you haven’t already) and also see what Michael Pollan is up to.  Do your own research about organic and sustainable produce to see what enlightens you.

Would you consider signing up for a CSA program, or have you already?  Check out Local Harvest to locate some farms near you!

6 Comments

Filed under Food + Recipes

6 responses to “What’s In Your Food?

  1. Pingback: Doggy Diaries: What Dog Food is Best? | tiffanylanehandmade

  2. I.m really glad you posted about this. I have been wanting to eat fresher organic foods and free range meats.Thank you for information!

  3. This is such a great post and it’s so true. I try to be conscious of good eating but it’s not always easy!

    • It definitely takes some extra effort and inconvenience, but once it’s part of your lifestyle, it gets much easier. Still really working on this one, especially since the hubby isn’t quite convinced of all of it!

  4. I’m a huge Michael Pollan fan; when I first saw him in “Food Inc.,” his interviews got me wanting to read the rest of his works. Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

What do you think?

