Featured: Katie from Consequence of Color

So much of my encouragement comes from friends and family.  It is they who encouraged me to open up my Etsy shop and they who continue to remind me to tread on even when my creative dreams may seem dim.

One of my best friends is quite the artist and creator herself, and my admiration for her work encourages me all on its own.  Katie has always been my ultra talented creative friend.  From basically mentoring me through AP art in high school (don’t ask me how I got to be in AP art with her) to our beautifully furnished walls in our college dream of a home, forever to be known as ‘the yellow house’ (for obvious reasons).  Every aspect of her life screams creative.  She now works for a Christian magazine and gets to live out daily her creative talents, whether that be writing, editing or designing.

On the side, she not only paints and draws, but she writes a blog about creating and doing so mindful of our own creator.  It’s called Consequence of Color, and every time I read it, I’m reminded of why we’re here and because of who.  In essence, it helps to keep me grounded, and for that I’m so thankful.

Besides all of her creative talents, Katie is an amazing friend and the one who told me to start this blog.  She helped me get started, created my banners and brainstormed with me, too!  I am so blessed she was willing to share with us and it just seems right for her to be the star of my first interview! That said and without further ado, let’s get to know Katie a little better:

You’re an amazing artist, between your beautiful and inspirational paintings and the way you express yourself through words, I just can’t get enough of your blog! Tell us a bit about yourself that one might not gather from those two venues.
First of all, thank you! A little more about me? Well, I have been an athlete for my entire life, mostly as a softball pitcher. I love movies, even though if it was made before the 90s, I probably haven’t seen it. Traveling to new places and experiencing new things is always an adventure worth taking. If one of my favorite bands is playing in a venue near me, I will cough up the money to see them. I’m a chick but will admit to playing videogames. But beyond all these things, I’m just a young woman, learning how to interact with the world around me, gaining insights and meanings from those interactions, finding hope and beauty even when there only seems to be sadness and loss, and taking it all one step at a time.

When did you know you were an artist/maker?
When I saw my little mermaid marker drawings, surrounded by Lisa Frank stickers, taped up on my parents’ bedroom door. When the door was almost completely covered, I knew I was on to something. That counts right?


In your spare time, apart from painting and writing your blog, what do you do?
Well, honestly, I feel like I always have to be creating. But creating means nothing if you don’t focus on the things that really matter in life like friends and family. Keeping up relationships and friendships can be difficult, but it is so worth it. Whether it is babysitting for my 5-month-old nephew, grabbing coffee with a friend, watching The Bachelor with my mom, or making dinner with my boyfriend, there is nothing more important and special than the relationships in your life. Make time to do what you love, or else everything else will be meaningless.

Why do you create?
I create simply because I would feel empty if I didn’t. It’s how I express myself. If I didn’t express myself in these ways, I wouldn’t be learning as much about myself. Creating is not only a beautiful process, it’s a learning and discovering process as well.


When do you create? Are there certain times you set apart?
I feel like I am always creating, whether it’s an ad for work, or a personal painting. But I go through phases. It’s way too much time and energy to focus on every interest I have all at once. I bounce between cooking, baking, drawing, painting, designing, photographing, or writing. Not that I’m great at all of these things; probably quite the opposite, but I love them all, so who cares? And if I’m not creating things myself, I am collecting or getting inspired by others’ creations. Like music. I am a music collector, hunting for the latest band or album on the indie scene. My day to day would feel empty without some new tunes pumping from my ear buds or speakers.

Where do you create?
I have an art table where I keep all of my materials, including a sound system to make sure I have my music playing in the background. I usually draw or paint there, but someday, I hope to have an entire art room. Although when writing, there is nothing quite like my bed with my computer propped on my lap. I tend to bury myself away when creating.


Where does your inspiration come from?
My inspiration comes from others’ who have been inspired. There is something about a painting, a craft, a song, a story, or a piece of writing that you can immediately sense was full of inspiration from its creator. Art full of life like that can’t be anything but inspiring! But specifically, pictures, whether photography, graphic images, or paintings, serve as concrete inspiration. Other things like the lyrics or sounds of a song, or simply a beautiful story, are always evoking emotions and new ideas.

How do you get out of your creative ruts?
Well, as I mentioned above, I go through phases for my creative outlets. Creative ruts usually come because I get bored with what I’m doing or am uninspired. That’s when I usually shift mediums. If I get bored with painting, then I’ll move to drawing. And when I’m bored of drawing, I’ll move to writing, and so on. I find by the time I hit a creative rut in one medium, it’s time to move to another.


What would be the title of your memoir? Why?
I think it would be ‘Created to Create.’ I believe inspired creativity is truly the result of the ultimate Creator. God is the greatest artist of all time and matter. He crafts the grooves of the earth, places the stars in the sky, weaves millions of stories all together, and oversees it all with admiring eyes. We are made in his image. I think it’s only natural that we feel the need to join in on the creative process of life. I hope my own creations even barely point to His beautiful glory.

What handmade or artsy possession do you most cherish?
My paintbrushes and the wooden-bamboo wrap I hold them in. My boyfriend gave me this case with a beautiful scene of a sunset, cherry blossom branch, and cranes he painted on it himself for my birthday one year. I cherish it and the brushes they hold very much. They are representative of the tools to my craft and inspiration.

Thanks, Katie, for inspiring me to be the best I can and for sharing your thoughtful words and beautiful creations with us!  And for the rest of you, I urge you to check out her blog and I guarantee you’ll be inspired!

2 Comments

Filed under Featured Artisans

2 responses to “Featured: Katie from Consequence of Color

  1. Pingback: Spurring Inspiration « Consequence of Color

  2. Julie Panter

    Katie does such beautiful artwork!!

What do you think?

