Recipe: Vegan Pesto

Vegan Pesto | Tiffany Lane HandmadeI absolutely love pesto! It’s definitely in my top 5 for sauces and condiments, right up there with mustard. Yes…mustard. But that’s a topic for another day.

Back to the pesto. It goes with almost anything. Burgers, pizza, pasta. Yes, I do eat these on occasion. And I consider them more gourmet with pesto, which by default makes them healthier. Right?

But really, I put this stuff on almost everything. Eggs. Avocados. Toast with eggs and avocados. As a veggie dip. In wraps and sandwiches. On tacos. With roasted eggplant. Or any roasted vegetable really. And even with just a spoon sometimes.

So this pesto I’m talking about. It’s awesome.  And hubby approved. Which means it’s actually awesome, not just Tiffany awesome. He even said about the last batch I made that it must have crack in it because he couldn’t get enough.

Funny thing about this recipe, though. It’s more of a ratio built around your preference.  I normally eye ball everything then blend it all up in the food processor.  Easy as pie. Or should that be pesto?

Oh, and it’s vegan. Simply because I don’t feel the need to add tons of cheese to everything I eat (not because I’m vegan…because I’m not). But don’t be deterred, you dairy eating folk.  What it lacks in cheese, it completely makes up for in pure deliciousness. Remember, it’s (carnivorous/dairy loving) hubby approved.

If you’re anything like me, and I hope you are, you’ve probably got most, if not all, of these ingredients in your kitchen already. Greens, check. Nuts, check. Olive oil, check. Fresh garlic and lemon, check. Salt and pepper, check.

Traditional pesto is made with basil and pine nuts, but in true Tiffany fashion, I’ve got to mix it up and make everything my own. So, I use whatever greens I’ve got on hand (normally kale or arugula, sometimes basil), and whatever nuts I’m feeling that day (usually cashews, since they’re creamy like pine nuts, but not as ridiculously expensive, and many times I also use almonds or walnuts). And more than just using fresh lemon juice, I also add in the zest, because why not?

Like I said, just throw it all in the food processor, let it whirl, give it a taste, add a little more of this or that to round it out, and you’re good to go.

Vegan Pesto | Tiffany Lane Handmade

But this wouldn’t be a true recipe if I didn’t list it out all pretty with some sort of directions, would it?

VEGAN PESTO

Ingredients
greens (basil, kale, arugula, or anything else you like)
nuts (pine nuts, cashews, pecans, walnuts, almonds, or anything else you like)
olive oil
fresh lemon, juice and zest
fresh garlic cloves
salt

pepper

Preparation

Throw it all in the food processor (maybe start with half and half, greens to nuts, 1 garlic clove, half the lemon juice and zest, a dash of salt and pepper, then add in the olive oil until you get a nice consistency), let it whirl, give it a taste, add a little more of this or that to round it out, and you’re good to go.

What are you gonna put your pesto on?

Vegan Pesto | Tiffany Lane Handmade

3 Comments

Filed under Food + Recipes

3 responses to “Recipe: Vegan Pesto

  1. Julie Panter

    I made a small amount of ur pesto w/cashews $ no oil. It was a delicious snack and a litte sweet. Ty

  2. Brittany Duhs

    Looks delicious! I never thought about using kale or arugula and cashews!! Good call..definitely trying this soon :)

What do you think?

